Coloradoans legalized pot in Nov. 2012, but they didn’t just erase all the laws on the books. They replaced them with a bunch of rules for consumers, as well as sellers, growers and others. It’s gotten pretty confusing pretty fast, so we cut through the clutter with the ten most important things to know about Colorado’s new legal marijuana rules.
1) Retail sales begin Jan. 1, 2014. The first recreational marijuana retailers in Colorado are actually medical marijuana retailers that have obtained a license from the state to engage in sales to all adults over 21. These retailers must also obtain local permits and deal with other red tape. But a few should be open on Jan. 1. If you're going before Jan. 1 — see number 4.
2) You can buy weed in Colorado at the places listed below:
Annie’s in Central City, CO at 135 Nevada St. said they’ve gotten Marijuana Enforcement Division approval to engage in over-21 sales. Three other dispensaries also have MED approval. The Grove (74 Federal Blvd., Denver), The Haven (777 Canosa Ct. #102, Denver) The Shelter (4095 Jackson St., Denver). More are expected to come online as they receive state and local permits. One hundred and fifty-nine groups have applied for Marijuana Enforcement Division licenses to operate retail outlets. They’re mostly going to be in Denver. Here’s a map of local cities with bans on retail stores. And a list of more will be updated here.
3) Up to one ounce of cannabis as well as pot “accessories” are legal to possess, use, display, purchase, transport.
Tourists can buy up to one-quarter ounce.
4) It’s legal to gift (transfer) up to an ounce to another person 21 or older.
If you’re going before Jan. 1, a friend can always “gift” you up to a ounce legally. Amendment 64 reads it is "not unlawful and shall not be an offense ... for persons 21 years of age or older ... to transfer one ounce or less of marijuana without renumeration to a person who is 21 years of age or older." Treat them right though, and take 'em out for a nice dinner.
5) No one under 21 allowed.
They’ll check IDs. Them’s the breaks, everyone born after 1992.
6) No driving high under the influence of THC.
Amendment 64 keeps driving high illegal, and police will pull you over for bad driving.
7) A person can grow up to six cannabis plants.
With "three or fewer being mature flowering plants ... provided that the growing takes place in an enclosed, locked space, is not conducted openly or publicly, and is not made for sale."
8) Be cool. Like Fonzie. Fonzie was cool.
Nothing in Amendment 64 legalizes jack-asserey. Legally, it states, “nothing in this section shall permit consumption that is conducted openly and publicly, or in a manner that endangers others.” So be cool.
9) Amendment 64 does not change or have any effect on workplace rules.
Nothing in Amendment 64 "is intended to require an employer to permit or accommodate the use, consumption, possession, transfer, display, transportation, sale, or growing of marijuana in the workplace or to affect the ability of employers to have policies restricting the use of marijuana by employers.”
10) Private property rights remain intact.
Old men can legally order tokers to get off their lawns. Nothing in Amendment 64 stops a property owner from prohibiting or otherwise regulating "the possession, consumption, use display, transfer, distribution, sale, transportation or growing of marijuana on or in that property."